Three Rules of Thirds

061
Amanda Bates/TU Student

Towson Tiger:

I chose this photo because I liked the way the viewer can see the details in the sculpture along its back, in its mouth and its eyes. It follows the rule of thirds since most of the attention is drawn to its head and face which is positioned in the upper right corner.

062
Amanda Bates/TU Student

Fall:

053
Amanda Bates/TU Student

Pumpkins are a staple when it comes to the changing of the season. I liked the texture in the photo along the pumpkins and its stem. I also like how each pumpkin is different in shape, size and color. This photo also follows the rule of thirds because the main pumpkin is positioned in right bottom of the image.

Portrait:

This image has a simplicity in it mixed with various textures. In my opinion, the white brick on the home mixed with the rustic wooden rocking chair and white metal side table shows character. The large window behind the woman brings lines into the image. I think its large size makes her look smaller in the image also. This photo contains the rule of thirds since the woman is placed in the bottom left corner.

Leave a comment